North Dakota

In the State of North Dakota there are 53 counties, each with their own trail courts. The Superior Court handles criminal felony cases and civil cases with damages exceeding $15,000 The North Dakota Supreme Court handles all appeals, but has discretion to assign cases to the Temporary Court of Appeals.

The three largest populated cities in North Dakota are Fargo, Bismarck, and Grand Forks.

Any complaints regarding the competency or ethics of your attorney should be made with the Disciplinary Board. To initiate a complaint against an attorney, you must write a letter providing a description of the lawyer’s conduct, and send it to the Secretary of the Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court, 600 East Boulevard Ave, Bismarck, ND 58505-0530, or calling 701-328-2221.

Contact Information